Sonko, Waiguru, ‘Jicho Pevu’ beat all odds to clinch wins

Sonko, Waiguru, ‘Jicho Pevu’ beat all odds to clinch wins


Former Cabinet Secretary Anne Waiguru, journalist Mohammed Ali aka Jicho Pevu and businesswoman Esther Passaris have won convincingly in the respective seats they vied for in the national election.

Waiguru, who once served as Devolution Cabinet Secretary, is was leading the pack with 108,736 votes, by 6.50am on Wednesday, against Narc Kenya leader Martha Karua’s 77,874.

anne waiguru

Bedan Kagai came in a disappointing third with 6,599 votes while Governor Joseph Ndathi trailed at just a paltry 3,033.

It was a two-horse race from the word go with Waiguru tipped to clinch the seat, at least according to studies by different pollsters. She fought it out with Karua to be head of Kirinyaga county which boats 349,836 registered voters. It is the 23rd county with the most voters.

It will be remembered that Waiguru resigned from her cabinet position in November 2015, following the highly-publicised Sh1.8 billion NYS scandal. Karua was once a powerful minister during President Mwai Kibaki’s regime.

Ali has crafted his name through his hugely popular Jicho Pevu show where he exposed the ills of the government (mostly), and vied as an independent aftre losing to a brother to Mombasa Governor Hassan Joho in the ODM nominations, albeit controversially. He will now take over from Hezron Awiti as Nyali MP.

The former KTN investigative journalist garnered 20,768 votes at that time and was followed by ODM’s Said Salim (12,643), Jubilee’s Ashraf Bayusuf (7,556) and Wiper’s John Mcharo (2,586).

mohammed ali

Passaris managed an impressive 639,470 votes and was followed by incumbent Nairobi woman representative Rachel Shebesh who had 514,790.

Passaris is in the orange party and Shebesh in Jubilee Party.

Meanwhile, Mike Sonko dealt incumbent Evans Kidero heavy blow and clinched the Nairobi gubernatorial race. He convinced a total of 792,847 votes against Kidero’s 635,990.


Tired of losing to the likes of Sportpesa, Betin, Betway etc Try this site and win DAILY!!! Join them and Start Winning daily, plus 10 SURE TIPS DAILY!!! CLICK HERE